ATTENTION: The AQHA office will be closed Thursday, November 27, and Friday, November 28, in observance of Thanksgiving. We look forward to serving you again Monday, December 1. 

Distance Championship

Challenge | Derby | Juvenile | Distaff | Distance | Starter Allowance | Complete History

2013 Winner - Honoroso

Fly Jess Fly-Abla Espanol by Spanish Boot
Owner - Richard Gardner and RTM Stables
Breeder - Sassy Farms LLC (UT)
Trainer - Ryan Hanson
Jockey - Ramon Guce
Time - :45.470 (SI-99 *unofficial, hand-timed)

Honoroso Upsets Red Cell Challenge

Despite having a solid record of nine wins in 26 prior starts, with most of those coming in Utah, Idaho and Wyoming, Honoroso came into the $100,000 Red Cell Distance Challenge Championship (G1) on Saturday at Los Alamitos with a bankroll of just $41,329. After an 870-yard sprint in a hand-timed :45.470, the Utah-bred earned $48,000 to more than double his career bankroll. Ridden by Ramon Guce for trainer Ryan Hanson and owners Richard Gardner and RTM Stables, Honoroso dueled for the lead throughout and held on to prevail by a neck at odds of 6-1.

Bred by Sassy Farms LLC, the 4-year-old gelding by Fly Jess Fly shipped into Los Alamitos after consecutive wins at the Eastern Idaho Fair and Wyoming Downs. Honoroso qualified to the race with a decisive victory in the Red Cell Les Bois Distance Challenge in Idaho. His record now stands at 27-10-6-5 with earnings of $89,329.

“The horse has been in Idaho the past two years,” said Hanson. “We always thought he was going to be a good 870 horse. We are very fortunate he ran so well on the biggest stage in racing. I honestly thought he could do it. I am just so happy for his connections, and he had a great ride by Ramon Guce. Things went our way.”

Texas shipper Dashers Midnight, a Some Dasher gelding running for Elaine and Joe McAnally, went over the $100,000 mark in career earnings with a second-place finish. Horton Racing LLC’s Call Her Hero came in from Iowa to get third.

Stakes History

Year      Winner          Owner              Trainer              Jockey              Purse         
Richard Gardner & RTM Stables
Ryan Hanson
Ramon Guce
All About Larry Diane Heath
John Stinebaugh
Salvador Martinez
2011 Yin Your Eyes Rene Laatsch     Bill Hoburg Luis Torres $122,500
2010  De Passem Okey      Steve Holt  Rodney Reed  G.R. Carter, Jr.  $125,000 
2009  Gone To The Mountain      Clyde Woerner  Wes Giles  Freddie Martinez  $125,000 
2008  High On Cat  A.J. Renner  John Stinebaugh      Esgar Ramirez  $125,000 
2007  Snowbound Superstar  Tom and Brenda Brinkley      Paul Jones  Cody Jensen  $100,000 
2006  Strider Man  Warner Croft  Matt Baker  Jeff Jerman  $100,000 
2005  Prankster CF  Joan Dale Hubbard  Paul Jones  Saul Ramirez, Jr.      $100,000 
2004  Run And Play  Bobby D. Cox  John Buchanan  John Hamilton  $100,000 
2003  Sterling Sport  Muller Racing LLC  Dennis Ekins  G.R. Carter  $100,000 
2002  Classy Shot Glass  Sandy Erwin  Jose Dominguez  Juan Vazquez  $75,000 
2001  Sign Of Lanty  Jackie and Rod MacPherson, Jr.      John Cooper  Eddie Garcia  $75,000 
2000  Sign Of Lanty  Jackie and Rod MacPherson, Jr.  John Cooper  Joe Badilla, Jr.  $75,000 
1999  Hateful Hanna  Vessels Stallion Farm LLC  Danny Cardoza  Dusty Stimpson  $75,000 
1998  Devil His Due  Terry McLean  Gerry McLean  Darrell Constantin  $75,000 
1997  Streakin Victory  Scott Willoughby  Scott Willoughby  Jim Lewis  $50,000 
1996  Comus  P.J. Schachie  John Bassett  G.R. Carter, Jr.  $51,210 
1995  Racin Deal  HSC Inc.  Guy Hopkins  Tram Telg  $52,110 
1994  Speedy Lunch  P. Marckesano / V. Rodas  Brian Koriner  Guillermo Guiterrez  $50,400 
1993  Speedy Lunch  P. Marckesano / V. Rodas  Brian Koriner  Guillermo Guiterrez  $60,700 

Fastest Time

Year      Horse              Track              Time / Speed Index 
2005  Prankster CF  Los Alamitos  :44.102 / 108 

Highest Speed Index

Year      Horse              Track              Time / Speed Index 
1996  Comus  Turf Paradise  :44.93 / 117 

Highest Win Payoff

Year      Horse              Track              Odds to $1     $2 Win Price
2008  High On Cat  Evangeline Downs      39.8  $81.60

Lowest Win Payoff

Year      Horse              Track              Odds to $1     $2 Win Price
2005  Prankster CF  Los Alamitos  0.2  $2.40
2007 Snowbound Superstar     Los Alamitos 0.2 $2.40