Rylees Boy Back in 2013 Poll

Poll returns with familiar face atop it.

Q-Racing Journal
March 27, 2013

Top-10 Logo

The top-ranked performer of the 2012 AQHA Racing-Horseplayernow.com National Top 10 Poll has already returned to his perch in the first poll of 2013. Rylees Boy was last year’s Champion of Champions (G1) hero, and has already added to his impressive resume this season by winning the Los Alamitos Winter Championship (G1). The 8-year-old gelding is the reigning champion aged horse and champion aged gelding.

Rylees Boy, a winner in 22 of 45 starts for more than $1.3 million in lifetime earnings, will be aimed at a fall campaign and defense of his Champion of Champions title in December. But pollsters expect him to be prominent in the rankings throughout the season.

The season’s first top 10 also includes Los Alamitos Winter Championship-placed horses Bills Last (No. 7) and Hez Our Secret (No. 9). The sophomore Remembering Spence debuts at No. 2 following his victory in the Los Alamitos Winter Derby (G1). The rest of the first five is rounded out by West Texas Maturity (G2) winner TF Featured Effort, Charger Bar Handicap (G2) heroine Tres Of Linda and Eastex Handicap (G2) champ Fast Prize Mike.

The AQHA Racing-Horseplayernow.com National Top 10 rankings are presented each Wednesday of the racing season through year’s end. The national poll for 2-year-olds will debut later this spring as more juveniles embark on their racing careers.

    1. RYLEES BOY (100)
    4. TRES OF LINDA (54)
    5. FAST PRIZE MIKE (51)
    6. BIG BOI (35)
    7. BILLS LAST (32)
    8. PJ CHICK IN BLACK (31)
    9. HEZ OUR SECRET (17)
    10. HABITS SECRET (16)
JD Baccarat (14), Last To Fire (12), Mr Comando (9), Slew By You (8), Thisfeatureisspecial (6), T Boy C (5), Henoshersecret (5), Fast Prize Jordan (4), Bet On Ballou (4), Creole Williams (3), Revv Me Up (3), Perry Affair (3), First Black Wagon (2), WDC Wendys Wine (2), Zulu Dragon (1), Eufaula Me (1), La Mos Chingono (1)

The 10 voters are:
Ed Burgart (Los Alamitos announcer/handicapper)
Martha Claussen (Q-Racing Ace, writer/handicapper)
Mike Cusortelli (writer/handicapper)
Mike Joyce (TVG analyst)
Tom Dawson (Q-Racing Ace, network television producer)
Dale Day (Remington Park announcer/handicapper)
Jerry Shottenkirk (Horseplayernow.com, handicapper/oddsmaker)
Jeremy Plonk (Night School co-founder/host)
Terry Turrell (Horseplayernow.com handicapper)
Ty Wyant (writer, Daily Racing Form and AQHA)