Midnight Sunlight Wins Northlands

Ivory James filly wins Northlands Futurity in tight finish.

July 6, 2012

Midnight Sunlight won the $59,800 Northlands Futurity on Thursday at Canterbury Park in a sister-brother battle of owners that resulted in a photo finish.

The 2-year-old filly was bred in Texas by Bobby Cox, and is owned by Brenda Reiswig of Bismarck, North Dakota. She closed ground to win the photo by a nose over longshot maiden Mr Shakem Diva, owned by Reiswig’s brother, David Wisdom of Mandan, North Dakota.

"It’s all in fun,” Reiswig said. “But it’s a lot of money. This is such a nice filly.”

Midnight Sunlight provided trainer Vic Hanson with his first Northlands victory. She was ridden by Stormy Smith in a final time of :17.843 for the 350 yards. Midnight Sunlight paid $15.40 to win.

In March, Midnight Sunlight was the fastest qualifier for the Oklahoma Futurity (G2) and finished second in the final. She was the fourth fastest qualifier for the Northlands, finishing second to NN Absolutely in her trial. She has now won two of five starts and earned $98,074.

“We knew we had a very nice filly. We just got her a little tired,” Hanson said. “The trials are the trials. This was for the money.”

The second-place finisher was ridden by Clyde Smith and trained by Edward Ross Hardy. Finishing third was 2-5 favorite BP Painted Lady and jockey Cody Smith. The filly, trained by Amber Blair, was bumped after breaking from the gate and rallied to finish a head behind Mr Shakem Diva.

NN Absolutely was fourth, followed by Eye A Hero, Lynns Wagon, SR Ivory Queen, Naked Spur and Jess Thats Blazin. Traffic Patrol was scratched.

Midnight Sunlight is from the second crop of sire Ivory James, who is owned by Cox in partnership with Sylvia Shaw Pitman. The stallion stands at Royal Vista Ranches at Wayne, Oklahoma. Midnight Sunlight, who was an $18,000 purchase at the Heritage Place Yearling Sale, is out of the Royal Quick Dash mare Quick Moon Sign. The two-time Grade 1 winner earned $419,781 in her career and has produced 16 winners from 21 starters.