ProRodeo Hall of Fame Weekend

Induction ceremonies this weekend will honor rodeo cowboys.

July 11, 2013

ProRodeo Hall of Fame inductee John Bowman heads for Ted Ashworth in Oakdale, California, in 1959, photo courtesy of ProRodeo

ProRodeo hall of fame inductee John Bowman heads for Ted Ashworth in Oakdale, California, in 1959. (Photo courtesy of ProRodeo)

The ProRodeo Hall of Fame & Museum of the American Cowboy will be honoring John Bowman, Chuck Logue, Kenny McLean, Joe Baumgartner, and Rex "Bud" Kerby in ceremonies July 12-14.

The annual Cowboy Ball is July 12. Class inductions and the Commissioner's Classic Team Roping will be July 13. A fundraising golf tournament July 14 will complete the weekend.

The late John Bowman, a three-time world champion and a charter member of the Cowboys’ Turtle Association – he signed the original petition and carried card No.10 – heads the 2013 induction class of five.

Bowman is joined by the late Kenny McLean, the 1962 saddle bronc riding champion; 1990 bareback riding champion Chuck Logue; four-time PRCA Bullfighter of the Year Joe Baumgartner; and the late Rex “Bud” Kerby, one of the PRCA’s top stock contractors for more than 30 years.

Skilled in all the timed events, Bowman won his first gold buckle in steer roping in 1933, and won both the steer roping and all-around world championships in 1936 with earnings of $10,800 ($180,388 in today’s dollars). In 1927, he set a tie-down roping record of 11.0 seconds that stood for many years.

Bowman’s career lasted 44 years. He competed in tie-down roping and steer wrestling until he was past 50 and then cut back to just team roping and steer roping. He died in August 1949.

Considered by many to be the greatest Canadian rodeo cowboy of all time, McLean, an Okanagan Indian from British Columbia, was PRCA Rookie of the Year in 1961 and won the world championship a year later. McLean qualified for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo nine times (1961-65, 1967-69, 1971) and never missed winning an average check there in an era when the payouts only went six deep.

Logue, who came from Decatur, Texas, qualified for the NFR 11 times as a bareback rider (1982-87, 1989-93), winning the world championship in 1990 and the NFR average title twice (1985 and 1990).

The 46-year-old Baumgartner won the PRCA Bullfighter of the Year Award each of the first four years it was given (2004-07) and was selected to work the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo 14 times (1992-2004 and 2006).

Kerby is a second-generation ProRodeo Hall of Fame selection, joining his father, Swanny, who was inducted as a stock contractor in 1997.

The Kerbys’ Bar T Rodeo Inc., has been a family operation for more than 50 years, based in Salt Lake City and Chester, Utah, with its stock on 2,500 acres of leased and owned land in central Utah. Since Bud Kerby’s death in October 2010, the firm has been run by his daughter, Wendie and her husband, Jeff Flitton.

Including this year’s inductees, 231 people, 27 animals and 18 rodeo committees have been selected for enshrinement in Colorado Springs since the Hall opened in 1979.