angle-left Champions Crowned at College National Finals Rodeo

Champions Crowned at College National Finals Rodeo

Two American Quarter Horses were recognized with horse of the year titles.

text size

PRCA Press Release edited by Tara Matsler, managing editor of Performance Horse Journal

Another College National Finals Rodeo is in the books and more champions were crowned at the 2018 edition, which was 
June 10-16 in Casper, Wyo.
Colton Campbell's Desperada was the AQHA Men's Horse of the Year. The 8-year-old buckskin mare by TTC Ikes Desperado and out of the mare QHR Freckles Made Me, who is Made To Boogie a son of Doc O'Lena and out of Colonel Freckles Mare. Desperada was bred by Abigail Nelson of Wilton, California. Campbell, who hails from Klamath Falls, Oregon, purchased the mare from her breeder in 2016. Campbell and Desperada represented California State University, Fresno at the CNFR.
The AQHA Women's Horse of the Year title went to Abby Searcy's Dashing Wood Bar. The 11-year-old sorrel gelding is by the Dash Ta Fame son Woodbridge and out of Pine Bar Destiny by Jack McCandles. Searcy's purchased the gelding from his breeders, Bob and Eileen Moore of Downsville, Louisiana, in 2009. Searcy, a student at University of Arkansas-Monticello, is a native of Wilmar, Arkansas.
The men's all-around champion was Will Centoni. Centoni, a junior from Cuesta College, also won the bull riding national championship on the strength of his performance in the first two rounds. No bull rider managed to make a qualified ride in the finals. Centoni, who lives in Hollister, Calif., qualified for the finals in three events - bull riding, team roping and saddle bronc riding - at his second CNFR. He earned 645 points across all three events to win the all-around championship.
The other individual champs were bareback rider Tyler Berghuis; tie-down roper Ty Harris; breakaway roper and all-around women's champ Mia Manzanares; saddle bronc rider Jake Finlay; steer wrestler Tristan Martin; goat tier Mia Manzanares; team ropers Kellan Johnson and Trey Yates; and barrel racer Kynzie McNeill.
The top men's rookie was tie-down roper Harris, with Maddee Doerr on the women's side.

Oklahoma Panhandle State University in Goodwell claimed the men's team title, and McNeese State in Lake Charles, Louisiana, captured the women's team crown.