Derby Challenge History

Challenge | Derby | Juvenile | Distaff | Distance | Starter Allowance | Complete History

2013 Winner - JR Dynasty Mountain

FDD Dynasty-Prissy B Panther by Panther Mountain
Owner - JR Stables
Breeder - Bielau Oaks
Trainer - Ryan Hanson
Jockey - Francisco Rubio
Time - :19.556 (SI-99)


JR Dynasty Mountain Rolls in Adequan Challenge

Trainer Ryan Hanson scored his second major victory of the night on Saturday at Los Alamitos as he saddled JR Dynasty Mountain to win the $200,000 Adequan Derby Challenge Championship (G2) about 90 minutes after taking the $100,000 Red Cell Distance Challenge Championship (G1) with Honoroso.

While Hanson's first victory was a bit of a surprise, his second was not as JR Dynasty Mountain left the gates as the 2-1 second choice and quickly opened up on the field before cruising home to a 1 ¼-length win with a 400-yard time of :19.556 under jockey Francisco Rubio, who did not ride Honoroso but won earlier with Win Rabbits Fly in the $75,000 Zoetis Starter Allowance Challenge Championship. Rubio also went on to win the $350,000 Bank of America Challenge Championship (G1) with Vodka With Ice.

Bred in Nevada by Robert Hosier and Jay Bingham and running in the name of their JR Stables, JR Dynasty Mountain began his career at Dixie Downs in Utah in the barn of trainer Ron Moosman. The FDD Dynasty colt won four of six starts as a 2-year-old and ended his season with a runner-up finish in the PCQHRA Breeders’ Futurity (G2) at Los Alamitos. As a 3-year-old, he won the Adequan Les Bois Derby Challenge in Idaho in track record time before returning to California for the Challenge Championships. His record now stands at 10-7-1-1 with earnings of $186,357.

“This is a really good horse,” said Bingham. “Ron Moosman has brought him all the way then the Hansons took over and have done a great job.

“He ran about a month ago,” Bingham added. “It was a big race and the horse next to him broke out and he hit the gates so hard they had to scratch him. We were so disappointed and said alright we are just going to come back. Boy, when he broke tonight, oh my. Once we knew he was out we knew he couldn’t be caught. He’s that kind of horse.”

Bingham indicated they plan to breed JR Dynasty Mountain next spring and then return him to the races in the Challenge program.

Owner and trainer Dean Frey took second with favorite Snowboundbeast, a gelding by Snowbound (TB) who had won five of six starts on the year with four of those victories in Canada. Jose Agustin A. Osornio’s One Famous Episode, a filly by One Famous Eagle who had won four of five starts in Mexico City, closed to finish third. Stakes History

Year      Winner          Owner          Trainer          Jockey              Purse 
2013 JR Dynasty Mountain JR Stables
Ryan Hanson Francisco Rubio
2012 Mr Taka B
Vanessa Bartoo
John Stinebaugh Freddie Martinez
2011 Feature Honor Tremor Enterprises LLC Felipe Quintero Ramon Sanchez $200,000
2010 Acorn Rose Mary Chandler Janet VanBebber Alfonso Lujan $200,000
2009  Saturday Nite Fever      Reyes R. Salceda      Hector Hernandez      Santiago Mandez      $200,000 
2008  Gallant Ways  Cara Lucille Webb  Charlton Hunt  Martin Rubalcava  $200,000 
2007  Czech N Out Ashley  Salvador Salazar  Hector Hernandez  Alex Bautista  $200,000
2006  Magical Thunder  Mike Inscore  Ray Robbins  Juan Vazquez  $200,000
2005  LDS Dash For Dylan  Donna King  Bret Vickery  G.R. Carter, Jr.  $175,000
2004  A New Hero  J. Pruitt and C. Jumonville  Paul Jones  Ramon Sanchez  $175,000
2003  Prima LD  Antonio Fernandez Chedragui  Angela Aquino  Armando Andrade  $175,000
2002  One Rare Bug  Peter Bond  Ed Hardy  Tad Leggett  $175,000 
2001  Dashin Bye  Mike Levi  Blane Schvaneveldt  Jacky Martin   $175,000 
2000  War Colors  Teddy Abrams, Jr.  Steve VanBebber  Gilbert Ortiz  $175,000 
1999  Vital Time  Hernando G. Guerra  Bobby Martinez  Saul Ramirez  $175,000 
1998  Tailor Fit  Tom L. Ward  Steve VanBebber  Steve Fuller  $125,000 
1997  Winlotsa Cash  Henry E. Brown  John Bassett  G.R. Carter, Jr.  $100,000 
1996  Shes A Royal Flirt  Abigail K. Kawananakoa  Lin Melton  Scott Stevens  $100,000 
1995  Mars Blackman  James Kelly / Charles Grannon  Jerry Dobbs  Larry Layton  $75,000 
1994  Lit Bita Brunch  Rodney and Sharon Jensen  Blane Schvaneveldt  John Creager  $50,000 
1993 Royal Down Dash Victor Diaz Jose Dominguez Joe Martinez $56,500

Fastest Time

Year     Horse             Track             Time/Speed Index
2009 Saturday Nite Fever             Los Alamitos             :19.297 / 101

Highest Speed Index

Year         Horse         Track         Time/Speed Index
1995 Mars Blackman               Retama Park             :19.86 / 108

Highest Win Payoff

Year        Horse                            Track                     Odds to $1             $2 Win Price
2012 Mr Taka B                       Prairie Meadows 31.9 $65.80

Lowest Win Payoff

Year        Horse                            Track                      Odds to $1             $2 Win Price
1993 Royal Down Dash Sunland Park 0.4 $2.80