Last To Fire Moves Into Poll

Vessels winner moves into the national rankings.

Q-Racing Journal
July 10, 2013

Top-10 Logo

Sunday’s win in the Vessels Maturity (G1) at Los Alamitos earned Last To Fire the No. 5 ranking in this week’s AQHA National Top 10 Poll for older horses. The week’s big mover also earned an automatic berth into the year-end Champion of Champions (G1) by way of the Vessels victory.

The top of the poll was led for the second straight week by Priceless Feature, who overtook Rylees Boy for the top perch on July 3. Sophomore runners Wicked Courage and Brace For Bernal rounded out the top five older horses. On Saturday, Wicked Courage was the fastest qualifier to the Rainbow Derby (G1) at Ruidoso Downs, posting the fourth-fastest 440 yards run in the track’s history (:20.856).

The only newcomer to the national 2-year-old rankings this week was Rainbow Futurity (G1) trial winner Houdini, who checked in at No. 10. The Remington Park Oklahoma-bred Futurity (R) runner-up just missed qualifying for the Rainbow final and landed the fastest qualifying time for the Rainbow Invitational. The juvenile rankings continue to be paced by Heritage Place Futurity (G1) winner Big Biz Perry, 93-90, over Ed Burke Million Futurity (G1) winner Five Bar Cartel in close balloting.

Expect the Rainbow Futurity’s July 21 final to have a major impact on and facelift to the current 2-year-old poll.

    1. BIG BIZ PERRY (93)
    2. FIVE BAR CARTEL (90)
    4. WR GOLDEN EAGLE (66)
    5. GLITTER IN MY FACE (50)
    7. UNCHANGEABLE (33)
    8. HES RELENTLESS (24)
    10. HOUDINI (11)
She Forgives (10), You N How Many More (9), Separatist Firstdown (8), Big Dashing Perry (7), Wagon Tales (3), Moonifisant (2), Masherati B (2), Bradys March Madness (1)

    2. RYLEES BOY (87)
    3. WICKED COURAGE (85)
    4. BRACE FOR BERNAL (68)
    5. LAST TO FIRE (47)
    6. PJ CHICK IN BLACK (44)
    7. OCHOA (40)
    9. FIRST IN CLASS DBS (22)
    10. COLD CASH 123 (19)

TF Featured Effort (4), The Long Knife (3), The Lizzard King (2), Jetblack Gold Moment (2), Mr Ease Cartel (2), Ill Stop The World (1), Sum Fun For Magic (1), Jess Featureme Quick (1)

The 10 voters are:

Ed Burgart (Los Alamitos announcer/handicapper)
Martha Claussen (Q-Racing Ace, writer/handicapper)
Mike Cusortelli (writer/handicapper)
Mike Joyce (TVG analyst)
Tom Dawson (Q-Racing Ace, network television producer)
Dale Day (Remington Park announcer/handicapper)
Jerry Shottenkirk (, handicapper/oddsmaker)
Jeremy Plonk (Night School co-founder/host)
Terry Turrell ( handicapper)
Ty Wyant (writer, Daily Racing Form and AQHA)