OQHRA Elects New Officers

Wendy Ingersoll elected president of Oklahoma organization.

January 28, 2012


OQHRA board members elected Wendy Ingersoll Keener from Inola, Oklahoma, as their new president for 2012 and Randy Hill of Lexington, Oklahoma, as vice president. Connie Barnes from Jones, Oklahoma, was re-elected as secretary-treasurer. The board meeting began with outgoing president Jeff Tebow introducing Gary Walker of El Reno, Oklahoma, as a newly elected member of the board of directors. Gary was elected to fill the position vacated by Sammy Hester of Tulsa. Due to some health concerns, Hester did not run for re-election. Five board members were re-elected for three more years. Those directors are Connie Barnes, Butch Wise, Stacy Charette, Dee Raper and Jeff Tebow. Ben Hudson of Morgan Mill, Texas, was elected to a one-year term as the out-of-state member on the OQHRA board.

Each year six of the 18 elected OQHRA board members have terms that expire, and an election is conducted by an outside accounting firm to allow all OQHRA voting members to select the individuals to serve a three-year term on the board of directors. To be an eligible voter, an owner, partnership member or trainer must have started a Quarter Horse, Paint or Appaloosa at an Oklahoma track during the election year and must not have filed an option to be excluded from OQHRA with the bookkeeper at any of the Oklahoma racetracks. Additionally, individuals can be voting members by paying either a $25 annual or $200 lifetime membership dues.

The OQHRA annual meeting and 2011 awards reception will be held at Heritage Place on February 24 beginning at 6:00 p.m. This year’s event has no admission or ticket price, but reservations are requested and everyone is urged to attend. Please call (405) 216-0440 by February 17 if you would like to attend.

OQHRA provides a frequent email newsletter as a service to its members and other interested parties. If you would like to receive the Oklahoma updates, please email a request to oqhra@aol.com.