Texas Classic Derby

The Texas Classic Derby for Quarter Horses is hosted at Lone Star Park.

The Texas Classic Derby (G1) was introduced at Trinity Meadows in 1993. Since then, the race has been hosted at Sam Houston Race Park, Retama Park and primarily Lone Star Park.  The leading 3-year-old race hosted in Texas offers $75,000-added money with an estimated purse of $400,000. 

Historic icons including Mr Jess Perry, Streakin Sin Tacha, Oak Tree Special, PYC Paint Your Wagon, Stolis Winner, Cold Cash 123, Bodacious Eagle and First Valiant Sign have claimed the winner’s title.

  •  Historical Winners of the Texas Classic Derby 
  • Visit the TQHA website for additional information.


Race History