Seeding Announced for 2014 NCEA Championship

The National Collegiate Equestrian Association names the 12 teams competing for the overall national championship.

National Collegiate Equestrian Association

For complete information on the NCEA and its championship history, visit

Selection and seeding has been determined for the 2014 National Collegiate Equestrian Association National Championship, set to take place April 17-19 at the Extraco Events Center in Waco, Texas.
Beginning with the 2014 championship, the top-12 overall teams (western and hunt seat combined) are invited to compete. The NCEA Selection Committee determines and invites these teams based on a number of factors throughout the season.
The top-four seeds in the NCEA Championship each receive first-round byes in the 12-team format. The top-four seeds to this year’s event include Southeastern Conference champion University of South Carolina, Big XII Conference champion Oklahoma State University, SEC runner-up University of Georgia and SEC third-place team Auburn University.
Auburn is the defending NCEA overall national champion. Oklahoma State won the 2013 NCEA western championship and Auburn won the 2013 NCEA hunt seat championship.
For complete information on the NCEA and its championship history, visit
2014 NCEA Opening-Round Match-Ups

(5) Kansas State University vs. (12) Texas A&M University (winner faces (4) Auburn)
(6) Baylor University vs. (11) University of Tennessee-Martin (winner faces (3) Georgia)
(7) New Mexico State University vs. (10) Southern Methodist University (winner faces (2) Oklahoma State)
(8) University of California-Fresno vs. (9) Texas Christian University (winner faces (1) South Carolina)
Seeding For 2014 NCEA Championship

  1. South Carolina
  2. Oklahoma State
  3. Georgia
  4. Auburn
  5. Kansas State
  6. Baylor
  7. New Mexico State
  8. Fresno State
  9. TCU
  10. SMU
  11. UT-Martin
  12. Texas A&M

View the 2013 AQHA high-point winners in the free April American Quarter Horse Journal.