WSQHA Celebrates Year-End Winners

Look through photos and all-around champions from Washington State Quarter Horse Association’s 2014 awards banquet.

The American Quarter Horse Journal

WSQHA year-end all-around winners from left: Shelly Germaine, amateur; Laura Irwin, Select amateur; Rachel Mundell, Level 1 (Novice) amateur. (Credit: WSQHA) Scroll down to see more photos from the awards banquet.

It wasn't all fun and games December 6 at the 2014 Washington State Quarter Horse Association Convention in Issaquah, but there certainly was a good deal of it, especially when it came time to recognize the year-end award winners.  

The American Quarter Horse Journal congratulates the following high-point and all-around award winners:

  • AQHA Justin Rookie of the Year – Lily Richardson of Duvall, Washington
  • High-point halter horse – Good Time Lopin (2005 bay gelding by Good Asset-Principles Playmate by Principle Investment) and Brittany Morris of Milton Freewater, Oregon
  • All-around senior horse – Smooth Chickory (2000 bay gelding by Royal Chic Olena-Hickory Smooth by Doc's Hickory) and Jeanine Kern of Monroe, Washington
  • All-around junior horse – No Sneakinuponwilly (2009 bay gelding by Good I Will Be-Im Sneakin Up On You by Profit Policy) and Laura Irwin of Lynden, Washington
  • All-around amateur – Leaguers Finale (2007 sorrel gelding by Certain Potential-Leaguers Leadin Lady by Im A Big Leaguer) and Shelly Germaine of Poulsbo, Washington
  • All-around Select amateur – No Sneakinuponwilly and Laura Irwin
  • All-around Level 1 (Novice) amateur – Buster Browns A Star (2000 brown gelding by The Next Star-Miss Dorgan (TB) by Artichoke (TB)) and Rachel Lee Mundell of Kingston, Washington
  • Rookie youth – Protect A Melody (2000 chestnut mare by Protect Your Assets-Last Rally by Roping Chute) and Jessica Lynn Wuest of Everett, Washington
  • Level 1 (Novice) youth – Made Me Intangible (1991 bay gelding by Thee Intangible-Maid Me Sweet by Sweet Sandy Cue) and Elsie Naruszewicz of Monroe, Washington
  • Youth 13-&-under – Chips Heart (2002 chestnut mare by Chips Hot Chocolate-Zippos Queen O Heart by Zippo Pine Bar) and Lily Richardson of Duvall, Washington
  • Youth 14-18 – Whos All Invited and Charlotte Selby
  • High-point youth western horse – Whos All Invited (2005 sorrel mare by Invitation Only-Black And Elegant by Mr Mac Reynolds) and Charlotte Selby of Redmond, Washington
  • High-point youth hunt-seat horse – One Hot Loper (2005 sorrel gelding by Blazing Hot-One Classy Loper by At Long Last) and Aspen Crew of Bend, Oregon

WSQHA also honored individuals for achievements out of the arena. Walk-trot rider Ava Dees of Graham, Washington, earned the WSQHA Hours in the Saddle youth division award for 67.91 miles logged aboard Playboys Poco Burt. Her mom, Cynthia Dees, punched in 49.88 miles on Isle Be A River.

  • Sportsmanship Award – Emma Edwards of Issaquah, Washington
  • Adviser Award – Anwyn Deeks of Snohomish, Washington
  • Highest fundraiser – Graysen Stroud of Snohomish
  • Highest committee hours – Anywn Deeks

Congrats to all the WSQHA year-end winners! Access the full list of champions from

Would you like to see your affiliate’s year-end winners highlighted, too? Contact AQHA Internet Editor Tara Matsler at to have your awards banquet featured on's Showing page.