SOQHA The Madness Boasts 9,000 Entries

Catch the highlights and high-point winners from the Southern Ohio Quarter Horse Association's April 2-5 circuit in Wilmington.

The American Quarter Horse Journal

Scroll down to view more photos from SOQHA's The Madness. (Credit: SOQHA)

Aptly named, Southern Ohio Quarter Horse Association's The Madness clocked in with an astounding 9,000 entries (all divisions, all judges). 

"We cannot say thank you enough to everyone that just 'rolled with the ball' this weekend," show manager Mark Harrell Horse Shows said on Facebook. "As most of you know, we do not normally show at midnight. But you were right there with us all the way. ... We are already working on changes to try and make the evenings shorter for next year. But finishing by 1 p.m. on a bright April Sunday afternoon certainly helps get everyone on the road toward home, school, work and Easter celebrations easier."

Classes that saw some incredible entry numbers included:

  • Level 1 (Green) trail – 38 (1st S/C), 34 (2nd S/C)
  • Senior trail – 46 (1st S/C), 42 (2nd S/C)
  • Amateur horsemanship – 30 (1st S/C), 32 (2nd S/C)
  • Level 1 youth horsemanship – 28 (1st S/C), 34 (2nd S/C)
  • Youth 14-18 horsemanship – 39 (1st S/C), 40 (2nd S/C)
  • Amateur showmanship – 40 (1st S/C), 40 (2nd S/C)
  • Youth 14-18 showmanship – 46 (1st S/C), 46 (2nd S/C)

The American Quarter Horse Journal congratulates the following high-point champions at SOQHA The Madness:

Champion – Always Lopin Sober, a 2010 bay gelding (Lazy Loper-Always Invite Holly by Invitation Only), owned by Katie Grossnickle of Maple City, Michigan
Reserve – Suddenly Im Cool, 2010 black gelding (RL Best Of Sudden-Ima Cool Robin by Ima Cool Skip), owned by Beau Baird of Greencastle, Indiana
Champion – Hes Suddenly Handsom, a 2008 bay gelding (RL Best Of Sudden-Shethinkshesomething by Good Version), owned and shown by Emma Grace Gore of Mount Vernon, Ohio
Reserve – Miss AOK Bo Acres, a 2006 black mare (Lets Talk About AOK-AOK Freedy by TNT Fluid Fred), shown by Sadie Rose Ross of Grove City, Ohio
Level 1 Amateur 
Champion – Slip Off To Sleep, a 2005 black gelding (Too Sleepy To Zip-Shesa Slippin Chick by The Invester), owned and shown by Codi McConnell of Indianapolis, Indiana
Reserve – Vested In Good Karma, a 2009 chestnut mare (Vested Assets-Hot Dam Here I Am by Red Hot Impulse), woned and shown by Shelby Jo Brady of Kendallville, Indiana

Do you have news from your show? Contact AQHA Internet Editor Tara Matsler at to have your event highlighted on's Showing page.

Champion – Are You Charlie, a 2001 sorrel mare (Dont Skip Charlie-Are You Zipped by Zippo Pine Bar), shown by Daniel Carlson of Sheffield, Massachusetts
Reserve – Baileys N Chocolate, a 1996 bay gelding (Zips Famous Amos-Willow Bark by Fancy Red Bark), owned and shown by Jordan Ferguson of Tipp City, Ohio
Select Amateur
Champion – Heavenly Mac, a 2004 sorrel gelding (Macs Good N Plenty-Heavens Fantasy by Zippos Heaven Sent), shown by Susan Knapp of Van Meter, Iowa
Reserve – Riding The Range, a 2010 sorrel gelding (Openrange-Only A Step Away by Gucci Only), owned and shown by Janet Egolf of Rochester, Indiana
Level 1 Youth 
Champion – Quita Machine, a 2007 chestnut gelding (A Good Machine-Quita Classy Story by Quite A Story), owned and shown by Tori Kendle of New Albany, Ohio
Reserve – Makem Hot, a 2007 bay gelding (He Knows Hez Hot-Sweet Pleasure Maker), owned and shown by Jillian Channell of Springfield, Ohio
Youth 13-&-Under 

Champion – Assets Miss Reba, a 1997 bay mare (Investment Asset-Hard Star Miss by Hard Hunka Harlan), owned and shown by Karissa Shank of Bowling Green, Ohio
Reserve – Too Lazy To Zip, a 2009 bay gelding (Lazy Loper-A Good Hobby by Zippos Mr Good Bar), owned and shown by Lauren Carnahan of Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Youth 14-18 
Champion – Zips Bossy Chip, a 2008 bay mare (UK Mito Boss-Suzies Fancy Chip by Jessies Fancy Chip), owned and shown by Ellexxah Maxwell of West Mansfield, Ohio
Reserve – Invitation To Boot & Allyssa Luckhardt

View full results from each split/combined show, plus see all the circuit champions at