CNFR Champions

Top American Quarter Horses are recognized during the College National Finals Rodeo.

From the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association

Bucky Dual Pep was named Men's Horse of the Year during the College National Finals Rodeo with Douglas Rich riding. (Dan Hubbell photo) Scroll to the slideshow below for a Dan Hubbell photo of Ari-Anna Flynn and Sunny Two Socks.

The College National Finals Rodeo wrapped up June 20 in Casper, Wyoming, with new champions.

Tarleton State University
of Stephenville, Texas, captured the men’s national champion title, while Blue Mountain Community College of Pendleton, Oregon, claimed women’s honors.

The rodeo also recognized top American Quarter Horses at the event in women’s and men’s divisions, with both winners coming from Oklahoma colleges.

Sunny Two Socks, ridden by Ari-Anna Flynn of Southeastern Oklahoma State University, won the women’s division, while Bucky Dual Pep, ridden by Douglas Rich from Western Oklahoma State College, won the men’s division.

Sunny Two Socks is a 2007 palomino by Quick Little Lena and out of Ms Janes Stone by Sticks An Stones. He was bred by Toby Breeden of Charleston, Arkansas, and is owned by Denny and Lynn Flynn of Charleston.

Bucky Dual Pep is a 2007 buckskin gelding by Dual Star Barred and out of Running Hot Star by Old Tom Cat 3. He was bred by Gerald L. Ellis of Bonnots Mill, Missouri, and is owned by Lonnie and Cindy Rich of Herrick, Illinois.

Only registered horses were eligible to receive the award saddles.

2015 CNFR Timed-Event Champions

Tie-down roping – Landon Williams, Tarleton State University
Breakaway roping – Tamara Tunink, Western Texas College
Steer wrestling – Cameron Morman, Dickinson State University
Goat tying – Loni Pearce, Southern Arkansas University
Heading – Kolton Schmidt, Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Heeling – Sawyer Barham, Coffeyville College
Barrel racing – Callahan Crossley, Blue Mountain Community College
Men’s all-around – Landon Williams, Tarleton State University
Women’s all-around – Kirsten Smith, McNeese State University
Men’s team – Tarleton State University
Women’s team – Blue Mountain Community College