Wisconsin Awards Banquet

WQHA honored its 2017 high-point winners and special award recipients January 27.

From the Wisconsin Quarter Horse Association

WQHA Queen Kendall Thyes with the leadline award winners at the 2017 Wisconsin Quarter Horse Association awards banquet. (Photos by Ruehle Photographix)

The 2017 Wisconsin Quarter Horse Association Awards Banquet & Convention was held January 27 in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. Hall of Fame inductions included Bob & Eleanor McKillips, Gary Rudolph, Rochester’s Star and Reds Double Sonny.

Bob and Eleanor McKillips' induction

Gary Rudolph's induction

Rochester's Star's induction

Reds Double Sonny's induction

WQHYA youth members were recognized: Savannah Hauer with the Booster Award and Paige Smalkoski with the Sportsmanship Award. Paige hosts a lemonade stand at WQHA shows throughout the summer with proceeds going to the  youth team. The scholarship recipient was Erika Vandevelde.

Booster Award winner Savannah Hauer

Sportsmanship Award winner Paige Smalkoski's lemonade stand

Bill Goggins Memorial Award  

In 1989, WQHA member Bill Goggins was killed in an automobile accident shortly before that year's awards banquet. At the banquet that year, Bill would have been receiving his very first WQHA award as the WQHA High Point Novice Amateur Western Pleasure exhibitor. Bill's family requested that the award be given to Darrel Holman who was the reserve winner that year. Bill, Darrel and Jerry Pappendorf all competed together that year and called themselves 'the over the hill gang'. They had a lot of fun showing together, and Bill made a lot of WQHA friends while at the shows that year. Bill was in his fifties when he decided to learn to ride and pursue his dream of showing horses. He was the President of Wausau Paper Corporation and always said that the worst day that he had at a horse show was better than any day at his office, although he was pretty colorful in the way he said it. Bill's family was never into horses but supported his addiction, and continued to show his horses even after he died because they felt it would have made him happy. The 2017 winner was Melissa Baker & Dun A Little Lazy.

Gary Rudolph Memorial Trophy

The Gary Rudolph Memorial Trophy is presented by the Wisconsin Amateur Quarter Horse Association in memory of Gary whom passed away in September, 2015. Gary was a member of the Wisconsin Quarter Horse Association where he served on the Board of Directors and the State Show Committee and helping wherever needed on various other committees. His passion was raising, training and showing quarter horses. He was always available to offer a helping hand behind the scenes, offer a kind word or just a smile! The 2017 recipient was Nancy Holman.

All-around award winners

Small-fry award winners

Do you have news to share from your AQHA affiliate? Send it to Tara Matsler at tmatsler@aqha.org.