Top Professionals Compete

The 2013 Team Wrangler winners and new teams for 2014 were announced at the 2013 AQHA World Championship Show.

The American Quarter Horse Association

Team Wrangler winners and new teams for 2014 were announced at the 2013 AQHA World Show.

Teams made up of the top American Quarter Horse Association Professional Horsemen and - women vied all year for top honors. They came from all disciplines - from halter to all-around, roping to racing. The 2013 Team Wrangler championship cash awards for each team member and medallions were on the line.

AQHA points accrued by the competing Professional Horsemen and -women were tabulated throughout the year, and the team having earned the highest combined number of points was honored at the 2013 AQHA World Championship Show in Oklahoma City.

With the lights dimmed down in the Jim Norick Arena, one team stood apart from the rest. Team Cowboy Cut was crowned the 2013 Team Wrangler champion.

Led by team captain Joni Nelson of Long Grove, Iowa, the 2013 Team Cowboy Cut included:

  • Christopher Arentsen of Trenton, Illinois
  • Cheryl Harvery-Hawkins of Ocala, Florida
  • John May of McKean, Pennsylvania
  • Peter M. Oen of Ardmore, Oklahoma
  • Alfred Hewitt of Loxahatchee, Florida
  • Mitch Leckey of Richmond, Indiana
  • Jody Ramer of Sulphur, Oklahoma
  • Teddy Johnson of Gainesville, Texas
  • Michael W. Joiner of Santa Teresa, New Mexico
  • Wesley Giles of Vado, New Mexico
  • G.R. Carter Jr. of Oklahoma City

Each member of Team Cowboy Cut received a $1,000 cash award from Wrangler and a medallion.

AQHA Corporate Partner Wrangler also contributed $20,000 on behalf of the team to the American Quarter Horse Foundation Guy Stoops Professional Horseman scholarship fund. This fund benefits the college-bound children of
AQHA Professional Horsemen.

Wrangler presented a buckle and $2,500 to the highest point-earning exhibitor, J.D. Yates of Pueblo, Colorado; and also a buckle and $500 to the Extreme Team exhibitor of the year, C.R. Bradley of Collinsville, Texas. The top racing professional of the year, G.R. Carter Jr., will be presented a buckle and check for $2,500 at the upcoming Racing Champions announcement.

The new Team Wrangler teams for 2014 are:

Team 20X
Captain: Clay Logan
Randy Jacobs, Ronald Stratton, Joni Nelson, Peter M. Oen, Virginia Beaton, Chuck Briggs, Shane Dowdy, Wayne Czisny, G.R. Carter Jr., A. Jeff Acuna and Cody Joiner.

Team Cowboy Cut
Captain: Whitney Lagace
Rick Leek, Kelly McDowall, Tommy Buckner, David Miller, Adam Wainscott, Keith Miller, Steve Orth, Edward Dufurrena, Cody Jensen, John Buchanan and John Hammes.

Team Wrangler Retro
Captain: Teddy Johnson
Christopher Arentsen, Ryan Cottingim, Doug Leasor, Jim Ten Hoeve, Lainie DeBoer, Jennifer Leckey, J.D. Yates, Bobby Lewis, Freddie Martinez, Wesley Giles and Michael Joiner.

Extreme Team
Jillian Bergstresser, C.R. Bradley, Tucker Clark, Jason English, Teresa Kackert, Ryan Kail, Jessica Lange, Josh Little, Genny Miller, Kristin Pokluda, Marty Simper and Trey Wood.

Learn more about the 2014 AQHA Team Wrangler teams and their members, and stay up to date on team standings throughout the year.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHAnews on Twitter, watch the AQHA Newscast and visit