AQHYA Officers and Directors Named for 2016-17

New officers and directors for 2016-17 were named at the 2016 Bank of America Youth Excellence Seminar in Amarillo

American Quarter Horse Association

The 2016-17 AQHYA Officers and Directors are excited to serve!

American Quarter Horse Youth Association regional directors and five national officers for the 2016-17 term were elected July 14 at the Bank of America Youth Excellence Seminar in Amarillo

AQHYA national officers and regional directors play a major role in the youth association by planning events, participating in community service projects and spreading the word about American Quarter Horses, youth activities and AQHYA. They also represent AQHYA throughout the year at functions and events nationwide.

Each of AQHYA’s 11 regions can elect three directors at the Bank of America Youth Excellence Seminar. From those directors, delegates elect five national officers.

Throughout the year, the officers and directors network with horse enthusiasts throughout the industry to ensure a successful future for the industry. AQHYA officers and directors set goals to grow youth involvement in every aspect of the equine world, uphold the integrity of the breed and work toward ensuring the future of the industry. 

AQHYA national officers and regional directors have a unique opportunity to develop leadership skills to enhance their AQHYA experience and all of their future endeavors. All youth are encouraged to get involved.

The 2016-17 officer team:
President: Brock Murphy of Jackson, Missouri
Vice President: McKenzie Merritt of Lincoln, Nebraska
Second Vice President: Ty Cornelius of Mt. Pleasant, Arkansas
Executive Member: Clara Johnson of Indianola, Iowa
Executive Member: Jim Stors of Mompach, Luxembourg


Region 1
Anwyn Deeks of Snohomish, Washington

Region 4
Caleb Sturgeon of Beloit, Ohio
Olivia Tordoff of Powell, Ohio

Region 5
Kylie Marie Good of East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Austin Ralls of Catlett, Virginia

Sloane Vogt of Berlin, Pennsylvania

Region 7
Shandiin Farrell of Mesa, Arizona
Steven Paul Parker II of Cave Creek, Arizona

Region 8
Alan Hinds of Lawrence, Kansas
Justis Marshall of Burlington, Colorado
Meg Tebow of Piedmont, Oklahoma

Region 9
Emily Wasson of Madison, Mississippi

Region 10
Katelyn Womack of Barnesville, Georgia

For more information on the 2016 YES, visit

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHAnews on Twitter and visit