Wrapping Up the 2016 AQHA Convention

The 2016 AQHA Executive Committee, American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame inductees, Professional’s Choice professionals of the year and more were named at this year’s AQHA convention.

The American Quarter Horse Association

The 2016 AQHA Convention, held March 11-14 at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, was a huge success.

The American Quarter Horse Association is an organization that works for its members. Each spring, AQHA holds an annual convention to review member-submitted rule changes, appoint new AQHA directors, induct members into the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame and present year-end awards. The 2016 AQHA Convention was March 11-14 at the South Point Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. 

AQHA Executive Committee
The new AQHA Executive Committee was elected March 14. This five-person committee is responsible for implementing important decisions made by AQHA members through the board of directors.

The 2016-17 AQHA Executive Committee is President Sandy Arledge of Encinitas, California; First Vice President Ralph Seekins of Fairbanks, Alaska; Second Vice President Dr. Jim Heird of College Station, Texas; member Stan Weaver of Big Sandy, Montana; and member Butch Wise of El Reno, Oklahoma.

Learn more about each member of the AQHA Executive Committee.

Hall of Fame Inductees
The 2016 American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame inducted 10 legends at convention: AQHA Past President Johannes Orgeldinger of Grosswallstadt, Germany; the late Paul Curtner of Jacksboro, Texas; Floyd “Sunny Jim” Orr of Pueblo, Colorado; Ben Hudson of Morgan Mill, Texas; the 1961 stallion Mr Gun Smoke; the 1949 stallion Parker’s Trouble; the 1917 stallion Zantanon; the 1967 gelding Van Decka; the 1954 gelding Vandy’s Flash; and the 1943 Thoroughbred mare Woven Web.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, Dawn Forest of College Station, Texas, was presented the 2015 Merle Wood Humanitarian Award.

During the Hall of Fame Banquet, the American Quarter Horse Foundation also presented Art and Catherine Nicholas of Douglas, Wyoming, with the Dogwood Bronze Award in honor of their generous support and efforts in advancing the work of the Foundation.

Professionals of the Year
The 2015 Don Burt Professional’s Choice Professional Horseman of the Year, Professional’s Choice Horsewoman of the Year and Professional’s Choice Most Valuable Professional awards were presented at the awards banquet March 12. The awards were presented by AQHA Corporate Partner Professional’s Choice.

Larry Little of Mebane, North Carolina, was named the 2015 Don Burt Professional’s Choice Professional Horseman of the Year. Lainie DeBoer of Forest Lake, Minnesota, was named the 2015 Professional’s Choice Horsewoman of the Year. Leslie Lange of Greeley, Colorado, was named the 2015 Most Valuable Professional. Read more about Little, DeBoer and Lange.

2015 AQHA Year-End Winners
More than 100 high-point titles were awarded at the awards banquet.

In addition to the leaders in each division, AQHA also named the 2015 year-end all-around award winners:

  • Markel Insurance All-Around Youth Ellexxah Ireland Maxwell and Zips Bossy Chip
  • Farnam All-Around Amateur Hayley Saul and Putadrinkinmyhand
  • Farnam All-Around Junior Horse Snap Krackle Pop, owned by Twylla Lynn Brown
  • Farnam All-Around Senior Horse DT Shesa Dun Whiz, owned by DT Horses LLC
  • Farnam World Champion Racing American Quarter Horse Heza Dasha Fire, owned by S-Quarter K LLC

2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards
The recipients of the 2015 AQHA Lifetime Achievement Awards were Greg Whalen of Rio Verde, Arizona, Pat Carter of St. George, Ontario and Wayne Jordan of Whitesboro, Texas. These individuals were nominated and voted on by the Professional Horsemen’s Council.

To order pictures from each banquet, contact Jennifer Horton at Jennifer@barHphotograpy or 319-240-3520.

Stay tuned to www.aqha.com for further information on committee actions at convention.

Visit www.aqha.com/convention for future convention dates and to see additional coverage by The American Quarter Horse Journal from the 2016 event.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHAnews on Twitter and visit www.aqha.com/news.