2016 Distinguished Alumni of Texas A&M

AQHA congratulates American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame member Dr. Charles Graham on receiving the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Texas A&M University.

The Texas A&M University Association of Former Students

AQHA Hall of Fame member Dr. Charles W. Graham was awarded the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award from Texas A&M University.

Texas A&M University recently announced the selection of 12 Aggies who were selected as the 2016 recipients of the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M University, the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Among those honorees is American Quarter Horse Hall of Famer Dr. Charles W. Graham.

Dr. Charles W. Graham '53 is one of the world’s top equine veterinarians, a leader in Texas’ horse and cattle industries and a tireless volunteer, advocate and youth mentor. He has built the largest vet hospital facility/business in Texas and also created the state’s oldest continuous stallion breeding operation, Southwest Stallion Station.

A member of the Texas A&M Equine Research Committee, he was an influential participant in funding and construction of the new veterinary and biomedical education complex. He has helped recruit leaders for A&M’s equine initiative and the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. He is a former director of the American Association of Equine Practitioners and was a founder of Frontier Bank of Texas in Elgin; a director of the American Quarter Horse Association; a member of the Board of Managers of Kalon Biotherapeutics; and a founding member of Rodeo Austin.

Other Distinguished Alumni include:

Dr. Jarvis E. Miller ’50 of Bryan, Texas
Dr. Charley V. Wootan ’50, posthumously awarded
Dr. Robert L. Walker ’58 of College Station, Texas
David G. Eller ’59 of Houston
Dr. William M. Barnes ’64 of San Antonio
Patrick K. Gamble, General USAF (Ret.) ’67 of Hemphill, Texas
Otway B. Denny, Jr. ’71 of Bryan, Texas
Van H. Taylor ’71 of Bryan, Texas
Ray A. Rothrock ’77 of Portola Valley, California
Dr. Susan Rudd Bailey ’78 of Fort Worth, Texas
Cynthia B. Taylor ’84 of Houston

Biographies on the additional Distinguished Alumni can be viewed at tx.ag/DA2016.

Since the inception of the award in 1962, only 261 of Texas A&M’s 440,000 former students have been recognized with the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Awarded jointly by the university and The Association, this award recognizes those Aggies who have achieved excellence in their chosen professions and made meaningful contributions to Texas A&M University and their local communities.

“Texas A&M’s 2016 Distinguished Alumni demonstrate the broad reach and influence of Texas A&M,” said Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young. “This group includes fearless leaders and influencers in the fields of engineering, technology, energy, medicine, veterinary medicine, national defense, finance, education and philanthropy. Their stories truly display the power of a Texas A&M University education.”

The recipients learned of their honor when surprised in their places of business and other locations by a group of university and Association representatives, including Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp ’72, Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young, The Association of Former Students’ 2016 Chairman of the Board of Directors Dwain Mayfield ’59, Association President and CEO Porter S. Garner III ’79 and a Ross Volunteer, along with university mascot Reveille IX and her handler.

“Our 2016 Distinguished Alumni are an inspiration to Aggies everywhere,” Mayfield said. “Their varied professional pursuits and far-reaching influences across our Aggie Network are all strongly rooted in our core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect and selfless service.”

Garner echoed the sentiments of Young and Mayfield and offered his congratulations on behalf of The Association of Former Students. “The Distinguished Alumnus Award is the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M,” Garner said. “The less than one-tenth of 1 percent of our former students selected for this award represent the very best of our worldwide Aggie Network.”

The Association of Former Students will further honor all recipients of this award during its annual Distinguished Alumni Gala on October 7. In addition, the 2016 recipients will be recognized during the October 8 Texas A&M football game against Tennessee. Nominations for the 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award will be accepted May 1 through September 1 at tx.ag/DAnominations.

The Association of Former Students, established in 1879, is the official alumni organization of Texas A&M University. The Association connects hundreds of thousands of members of the worldwide Aggie Network with each other and the university, and provided $11.2 million in impact to university scholarships, awards, activities and enrichment for students, faculty, staff and former students in 2015. For more information about the Distinguished Alumnus Award or The Association, contact Kathryn Greenwade at KGreenwade88@aggienetwork.com or visit www.AggieNetwork.com.