Texas Honors State Champions

The Texas QHA presents its year-end awards.

Q-Racing Journal

TQHA owners of the year Charlotte and John Boegner, with TQHA president Dennis Sigler. PHOTO: Richard Chamberlain

The Texas Quarter Horse Association held its annual meeting and awards banquet on February 1 at the Hilton Hotel & Conference Center in College Station. Outgoing TQHA president Trey Malechek handed the reins to incoming president Dennis Sigler, who presented the association’s year-end awards.

The Texas QHA owner of the year is John Boegner, while Jerry Windham is the breeder of the year. Gus Barakis’ Scarlet Hill Farm is the stallion owner of the year, and Scarlet Hill’s Executive Menace is the stallion of the year. Tommy Bullard’s Bullard Farm owns broodmare of the year Go You Must. Ashley Sioco, with her horse Zippos Gold N Sonnet, is the TQHYA all-around high-point winner.

The 2013 Accredited Texas-Bred Champions are Orions Award, owned by Juan Perrett Jr., 2-year-old colt; Kates Dynasty, owned by Smith/Windham/Guthrie, 2-year-old filly; The Kat In The Hat, owned by Jose R. Espinosa, 2-year-old gelding; Flirtingwithamiracle, owned by Marina Nino, 3-year-old colt; Jetblack Gold Moment, owned by Mercy Hinklins Horse Farm LLC, 3-year-old filly; Jody Pops Zoomer, owned by Gary and Randall Kurz, 3-year-old gelding; Sparrow Contender, owned by Israel Soliz Jr., aged stallion; Kool Country Man, owned by Jose S. Vera Jr. and Juan Barbosa, aged gelding; and Loves Brown Sugar, owned by Sue Fikes, aged mare.

The AQHA high-point champions of Texas are SS Poker Face Dream, owned by Juan Carlos Perez, 3-year-old colt; Lets Get Silk, owned by Silvia Robles, 3-year-old filly; Grizzly Water, owned by Allen Jacoby and Jesse Yoakum, 3-year-old gelding; Bar Struck, owned by Julio Cesar Ramirez, aged stallion; Loves Brown Sugar, owned by Sue Fikes, aged mare; Jess A Comment, owned by Michael S. Amburn, aged gelding; Corona La Jolla, owned by Donna Mushinski, distance horse; and Miss Flores, owned by Rafael E. Haros, claiming horse.

The Texas regional champions are Jose R. Espinosa, owner; Bobby D. Cox, breeder; Judd S. Kearl, trainer; and Luis L. Vivanco, jockey.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information,
follow @AQHARacing on Twitter, watch the AQHA Racing Newscast and visit www.aqharacing.com.