Rolando Pablos is New Texas Racing Commission Chair

The El Paso resident replaces Robert Schmidt, who resigned the post on Monday.

Austin American-Statesman

Rolando Pablos of El Paso is the new chairman of the Texas Racing Commission.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has tabbed Rolando Pablos of El Paso to be the chairman of the state racing commission.

Pablos replaces Robert Schmidt, who resigned on Monday. Pablos is not a newcomer to the post, as he served as chairman of the commission from 2008-11.

Gov. Abbott had wanted Schmidt, who will remain on the commission, to schedule a vote of the commission on Tuesday to repeal a previously approved rule to allow Historical Racing at Texas’ racetracks. But Schmidt said he couldn’t comply.

“They felt strongly about a direction, and I felt differently,” he said.

Gov. Abbott appointed Pablos to the commission in November. His term expires in February 2021.

Click here to read more from the Austin American-Statesman.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHA Racing on Twitter, "like" Q-Racing on Facebook, and visit