Los Alamitos Honors Its 2015 Meet Leaders

The track's season was highlighted by several outstanding performances.

Edited press release

Cruz Mendez (right) receives Los Alamitos' leading rider award from track marketing director Orlando Gutierrez. PHOTO: Scott Martinez

Los Alamitos Racecourse ended its 150-night Quarter Horse season on Sunday, as the track honored its 2015 meet leaders.

The track’s meet was highlighted by successful campaigns from horses like S-Quarter K LLC’s Heza Dasha Fire, the winner of the Grade 1 Champion of Champions and Grade 1 Los Alamitos Super Derby; five-time stakes winner Moonist, the winner of the Grade 1 Robert L. Boniface Los Alamitos Invitational Championship and Grade 1 Go Man Go Handicap; and Walk Thru Crystal, the winner of the Grade 1 Ed Burke Million Futurity and Grade 2 Kindergarten Futurity.

Other top stars during the meeting included three-time derby winner Forget It, multiple futurity winner Ima Fearless Hero, the winner of the Grade 1 Los Alamitos Two Million Futurity, and Quirky, winner of the Grade 1 Mildred Vessels Memorial Handicap and Grade 2 Charger Bar Handicap.

The early Pick Fours continued to be the most popular wager at Los Alamitos with an all-time record figure of $178,248 set on Sunday, May 3. The meet featured seven of the 10 highest Pick 4 pools ever. The average early Pick 4 for the year was over $115,000 per night. The meet also featured an all-time record in the late Pick 4 of $141,711 also set on May 3. Three out of the top four highest pools in the late Pick 4 were established in 2015.

Ed Allred was the leading Quarter Horse owner at the meeting with 69 wins from 403 starters. The AQHA Hall of Fame Owner and Breeder campaigned the Mildred Vessels Memorial Handicap and Charger Bar Handicap winner Quirky and Champion of Champions finalist Well And Good. EG High Desert Farms was the second leading owner with 33 wins headed by two-time Grade 1 futurity winner Walk Thru Crystal. Martha Wells finished third with 18 wins.

Paul Jones won 101 races and was Los Alamitos’ leading Quarter Horse trainer for the 17th time in the last 18 years. Jose Flores finished second with 62 wins and Jaime Gomez was third with 45 wins.

Cruz Mendez rode the winners of 119 races and was Los Alamitos’ leading Quarter Horse jockey for the fourth consecutive year. Carlos Huerta finished second in the standings with 87 wins, while Cesar De Alba was third with 84 wins.

Los Alamitos opens its 2016 race meet on December 26.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHA Racing on Twitter, "like" Q-Racing on Facebook, and visit www.aqharacing.com.