Louisiana Legislative Alert

Louisiana horsemen encouraged to make contact.

Press Release

Louisiana horsemen are encouraged to act on legislation.

The LQHBA is encouraging Louisiana horsemen to act regarding House Bill 986, by Rep. John Schroder, which is scheduled to be heard in the House Appropriations Committee on Monday, April 25th @ 9:30 a.m.

House Bill 986 redirects the Video Poker Purse Supplement Fund, causing Louisiana Bred purses to decline annually.

Please contact the House Appropriations Committee members (listed below) and ask them:
• To keep the video poker purse supplement fund directed to the horse industry
• Our industry has a 2.5 Billion dollar impact to our State
• If funds are undedicated – then the stability/uncertainty in the horse industry will more than likely create job loss
• We appreciate you standing up for the horse industry

House Appropriations Committee Members

Abraham, Mark      130 Jamestown Road Lake Charles, LA 70605     (337)475-3016                  
abrahamm@legis.la.gov   

Amedée, Beryl          302 School St. Houma, LA 70360        (985)858-2967                  
amedeeb@legis.la.gov
  
Armes, James K.     2255 University Pkwy. Leesville, LA 71446      (337)238-7004                  
armesj@legis.la.gov
  
Bacala, Tony           15482 Airline Hwy. Suite A Prairieville, LA 70769                  (225)677-8020                  
bacalat@legis.la.gov
  
Bagley, Larry        671 Hwy. 171 Suite E Stonewall, LA 71078          (318)925-9588                  
bagleyl@legis.la.gov
  
   
Berthelot, John A.        1024 S. Purpera Gonzales, LA 70737       (225)647-5646                  
berthelotj@legis.la.gov
  
Billiot, Robert E.      #10 Westbank Expressway Westwego, LA 70094     (504)436-8929                  
billiotr@legis.la.gov
  
Carter, Gary                  3520 General DeGaulle Suite 3071 New Orleans, LA 70114                  (504)361-6600                  
carterg@legis.la.gov
  
Chaney, Charles R.          P.O. Box 8 Rayville, LA 71269           (318)728-5875                  
chaneyb@legis.la.gov
  
Edmonds, Rick            3931 S. Sherwood Forest Blvd. Suite 200 Baton Rouge, LA 70816                  (225)295-9240                  
edmondsr@legis.la.gov
  
Foil, Franklin J.         412 N. 4th St. Suite 220 Baton Rouge, LA 70802   (225)342-6777                  
foilf@legis.la.gov
  
Harris, Lance          P.O. Box 13555 Alexandria, LA 71315-3555          (318)767-6095                  
harrisl@legis.la.gov
  
Henry, Cameron          1539 Metairie Road Suite A Metairie, LA 70005       (504)838-5433                  
henryc@legis.la.gov
  
Hensgens, Bob           407 Charity Street Abbeville, LA 70510           (337)893-5035                  
hensgensb@legis.la.gov
  
Hodges, Valarie                  35055 La. Hwy. 16 Suite 2A Denham Springs, LA 70706                  (225)791-2199                  
hodgesv@legis.la.gov
  
Leger, Walt III                  935 Gravier St. Suite 2150 New Orleans, LA 70112                  (504)556-9970                  
legerw@legis.la.gov
  
McFarland, Jack                  P.O. Box 143 Jonesboro, LA 71251                  (318)259-4275                  
mcfarlandj@legis.la.gov
  
Miguez, Blake                  410 N. Broadway St. Erath, LA 70533                  (337)937-8827                  
miguezb@legis.la.gov
  
Miller, Dustin                  1115 S. Union St. Opelousas, LA 70570                  (337)943-2900                  
millerd@legis.la.gov
  
Pylant, Steve E.                  805 Jackson St. Suite A Winnsboro, LA 71295                  (318)435-7313                  
pylants@legis.la.gov
  
Richard, Jerome                  907 Jackson Street Thibodaux, LA 70301                  (985)447-0999                  
richardj@legis.la.gov
  
Schroder, John M.                  522 N. New Hampshire St. Covington, LA 70433                  (985)893-6262                  
schrodej@legis.la.gov
  
Simon, Scott M.                  P.O. Box 1297 Abita Springs, LA 70420                  (985)893-6246                  
simons@legis.la.gov
  
Smith, Patricia Haynes                  251 Florida Street Suite 300 Baton Rouge, LA 70801                (225)342-7106                  
smithp@legis.la.gov
  
Zeringue, Jerome                  423 Goode St. Houma, LA 70360                  (985)876-8823         
zeringuej@legis.la.gov
           

To find who your Legislators are click the link below:
http://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/FindMyLegislators.aspx

Members, we must continue our support.  The power of numbers is much stronger than one individual. We sincerely appreciate your continued support!

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHARacing on Twitter, “like” Q-Racing on Facebook and visit www.aqharacing.com.