Albuquerque Fall Championship Added to List of Champion of Champions Qualifiers

The 440-yard stakes will be run in September at Albuquerque Downs.

Edited press release

The winner of this year's Albuquerque Fall Championship will earn a berth in the 440-yard, $600,000 Champion of Champions at Los Alamitos Racecourse.

The 440-yard Albuquerque Fall Championship has been added to the qualifying format for this year's $600,000 Champion of Champions (G1) at Los Alamitos.

Held at Albuquerque Downs, the Albuquerque Fall Championship will have its third running this year. The 2015 Albuquerque Fall Championship was won by Jrc Callas First, the 2014 world champion. Zoomin Effortlessly, a multiple Grade 1 winner in 2016, won last year's Fall Championship.

The other nine races offering automatic berths into the Champion of Champions, which will be contested on December 16, are:
Los Alamitos Winter Championship (February 17)
Remington Park Championship (June 3)
Vessels Maturity (July 2)
All American Derby (September 3)
Mildred Vessels Memorial Handicap (September 24)
Bank of America Challenge Championship (October 14)
Robert L. Boniface Los Alamitos Invitational Championship (October 15)
Los Alamitos Super Derby (November 12)
Z. Wayne Griffin Directors Trials (November 19)

If a horse wins more than one qualifying race, that extra berth will go to the winnerr of the $100,000 Go Man Go Handicap (G1) on September 3.

The Champion of Champions is the richest and most prestigious race for older Quarter Horses. The winner of this year's race will earn $300,000.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHA Racing on Twitter, "like" Q-Racing on Facebook, and visit