Racing Council Members

AQHA Racing Council has two new members.

AQHA Racing Council has two new members.

Two new members were elected to serve on the AQHA Racing Council: Phillip Stewart of Norman, Oklahoma, and Russell Harris of San Antonio.

They were elected by members of the AQHA Racing Committee. Each will serve a three-year term ending in 2021.

Stewart works as the farm manager of Bob Moore Farms in Norman, Oklahoma. The respected horseman has served on the AQHA Racing Committee, Racing Council and graded stakes sub-committee. He is a former OQHRA president, is an OQHRA director of emeritus and is on the board of directors for Heritage Place Sale Co.

Harris is one of the sport’s all-time leading trainers, having saddled the earners of more than $17.3 million. Now retired, he earned the Gordon Crone Special Achievement Award in 2006 and the AQHA Racing Council Special Recognition award in 2017. A longtime servant to the sport, he has worked on the AQHA Racing Council and Racing Committee and is also an AQHA director.

The Racing Council also includes AQHA Executive Committee Member Butch Wise, Racing Committee Chairman Mark Brown and members John Hammes, Duayne Didericksen, Melodie Knuchell, Debbie Schauf, Dr. Larry Findley and Ross Brigden.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHARacing on Twitter, “like” Q-Racing on Facebook and visit